The National Awards Committee has selected 5 recipients for 2018’s National Award of Honour, and 15 recipients for the National Award of Recognition. And The National Awards Technical Committee has selected 24 honourees for this year’s National Award for Special Achievement.

President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom will present the awards to the honourees at this year’s Independence Day official function. The function will be held on Thursday evening, 26th of July, at the Jumhooree Maidhaan (Republic Square).

The National Awards Committee select the honourees primarily based on criteria previously published in the Government Gazette, and with expert consultations, following thorough reviewing of all submitted applications.

Two honourees will receive the medal for exceptional academic achievement within the Maldives National Qualifications Framework, and 19 honourees will be recognised for attaining the top ranking in a higher academic course or training. The Special Achievement Award for attaining top ranking in an international exhibition or contest will be awarded to three honourees this year.

Special medals conferred by the State will also be awarded at this year’s Independence Day function. These include the President’s Medal for committing the Quran to memory in its entirety, conferred to 7 individuals; the President’s Medal to students who achieved first place in the world top ten in the 2017 IGCSE and GCE O’level examinations, and in the 2018 A’level examinations.

Source: The President’s Office