H.E. Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has sworn in as the 7th President of the Republic of Maldives. The President took his oath of office at the Special Assembly of the People’s Majlis held at the National Stadium this evening.

The oath was administered by the Chief Justice, Hon. Dr. Ahmed Abdulla Didi.

Following his oath-taking, President Solih signed the Instrument of Oath, and the Chief Justice and the Speaker of the People’s Majlis signed as witnesses.

It was then followed by a 21-gun salute and the National Anthem.

The Vice President-Elect Faisal Naseem was also sworn into office at today’s inaugural ceremony. The oath was administered by the Chief Justice. Vice President Naseem signed the Instrument of Oath thereafter.

The Presidential Inauguration ceremony was attended by Prime Minister of India H.E. Narendra Modi, Former President of Sri Lanka H.E. Chandrika Kumaratunga, and other high-level foreign delegates.

Also in attendance at the inauguration were former President H.E. Uz. Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, former President H.E. Mohamed Nasheed, and former President H.E. Dr. Mohamed Waheed.

Source: Presidency Maldives